The West Lafayette Schools Education Foundation is the first of its kind in the State, and the school corporation was instrumental, along with supportive state legislators, in the passage of the law that allows for this kind of foundation, one tied directly to the individual school corporation. Our school corporation can be proud of the essential role that we played in this important legislation.

Mission Statement

The mission of the West Lafayette Schools Education Foundation is to support the West Lafayette Community School Corporation in improving the schools’ educational programs and operation by obtaining funding to support the mission of the West Lafayette Community School Corporation and strengthening alumni ties to the schools.

The goals of the West Lafayette Schools Education Foundation are

  • to enhance the quality of public education,
  • to recognize and reward excellence in education,
  • to foster community support for public school education, and
  • to encourage and support innovative projects designed to improve the quality of learning.

Board of Directors

Doug Masson

Doug Masson

Brad Cohen

Bradley Cohen

Vice President

Sue Lasater


Mary Beth Whitman


Beth Bangs

Events Committee Member
Bauman John

John Bauman


Jim MacDonald

Finance Committee Member

Sally Downham Miller

Development Committee Member
schott, tom (2008)

Tom Schott


Tracy Eaton

Development Committee Member
Melissa Prochnau

Melissa Prochnau

John Fry

John Fry

Nominations Committee, Marketing/PR Member
Maria L. Whipple

Maria L. Whipple

Hallie Gorup

Hallie Gorup

Events Committee Member
Nina Wojtalewicz

Nina Wojtalewicz

Nominations Chair, Teacher Grants


Crystle Helderman

Interim Director

Native to Central Indiana, I have called the Greater Lafayette area my home for 5 years now. My experience is varied and I have had the opportunity to work for two universities, a hospital and several medical practices, focusing on…